About Us

About ETBU Athletics

East Texas Baptist University offers student-athletes, students and sports fans a wide variety of intercollegiate athletics programs from which to choose. The ETBU Athletic Department seeks to provide quality Christian education and competition for all its student-athletes.

ETBU is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), competing at the Division III level. Division III institutions do not offer athletic scholarships in any sports programs. Student-athletes may receive financial aid through academic scholarships, grants, loans, etc., however. ETBU has been a member of Division III since 1998, joining the ranks from previous status as a member of the NAIA and NCAA Division II.

ETBU joined the American Southwest Conference (ASC) in 1998. The ASC is divided into East and West Divisions, with a current total membership of 14 colleges and universities spanning Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi.

ETBU competes in the ASC East Division, which includes LeTourneau University (Longview, Texas), Louisiana College (Pineville, La.), Belhaven University (Jackson, Miss.), University of the Ozarks (Clarksville, Ark.), University of Texas-Dallas (Richardson, Texas) and the University of Texas-Tyler (Tyler, Texas).

The West Division consists of Concordia University-Texas (Austin, Texas), Hardin-Simmons University (Abilene, Texas), Howard Payne University (Brownwood, Texas), Sul Ross State University (Alpine, Texas), McMurry University (Abilene, Texas), and the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (Belton, Texas).

ETBU currently competes in 12 NCAA sports -- football, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's soccer, baseball, men's and women's cross country, softball, volleyball and men's and women's tennis.

(since becoming a member of NCAA Division III in 1998)

National Championships (3)
• Softball (2010, NCAA)
• Men's Soccer (1999, NCCAA)
• Men's Soccer (1998, NCCAA)

American Southwest Conference Championships (14)

• Football (2003, 2015)
• Volleyball (2001, 2002, 2003)
• Men's Basketball (2014-15)
• Softball (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2011, 2013, 2016)

American Southwest Conference East Division Championships (19)
• Volleyball (2001, 2002, 2006, 2007)
• Men's Soccer (1999, 2000)
• Men's Basketball (2003, 2016)
• Women's Basketball (2000, 2002, 2007)
• Softball (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2011)
• Baseball (2000)

American Southwest Conference Playoff Appearances (64)

  • 2015-2016: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Women's Tennis, Men's Tennis, Baseball, Softball
  • 2014-2015: Volleyball, Men's Basketball, Baseball, Softball, Women's Tennis
  • 2013-2014: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Men's Soccer, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2012-2013: Women's Soccer, Women's Basketball, Softball, Baseball
  • 2011-2012: Women's Soccer, Softball
  • 2010-2011: Volleyball, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2009-2010: Women's Soccer, Volleyball, Women's Basketball, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2008-2009: Volleyball, Softball
  • 2007-2008: Volleyball, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2006-2007: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Women's Basketball, Softball
  • 2005-2006: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Women's Basketball, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2004-2005: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Softball, Baseball
  • 2003-2004: Football, Volleyball, Softball
  • 2002-2003: Volleyball, Men's Basketball, Softball
  • 2001-2002: Volleyball, Women's Soccer, Women's Basketball, Softball, Baseball
  • 2000-2001: Women's Basketball, Softball