Nine Players Given ASC Awards for ETBU
Nine Players Given ASC Awards for ETBU
Thursday, November 21, 2013

RICHARDSON, Texas – Nine players from East Texas Baptist University received American Southwest Conference awards for their play in 2013.  There was one first-team selection, two second-team, five on the honorable mention team, and one sportsmanship award.

Jamaine Sherman was voted onto the All-ASC first-team after he led the conference in yards receiving.  He was the only 1,000 yard receiver in the conference and the first ETBU player to break 1,000 yard barrier with 1,084 yards.  He broke ETBU’s single season record for yards receiving and was second in receptions with 62.  He is currently 12th in the NCAA Division III for receiving and 13th in receiving yards per game (108). 

Tyler Bates and Toi Glover were named to the All-ASC second-team for their play on offense.  Bates was named to two positions as a wide receiver and a return specialist.  Bates led ETBU with 73 receptions breaking the single season record and was second in the ASC in receptions per game at 7.3.  He finished with 807 yards receiving which is second best in the ASC.  He also caught 10 touchdowns breaking ETBU’s single season record for receiving touchdowns.  As a return specialist, he was second in the ASC in kick return average (24.8) and all-purpose yards (167.3).  He had 26 kick returns for 646 yards with his longest return of 62 yards. 

Glover reached the 1,000 yard rushing mark in the final game of the season with a career high 41 rushes for 182 yards completing the season with 1,050 yards rushing.  He had five 100-yard rushing games posting 187 yards vs. Willamette.  In the ASC, he was third in rushing with an average of 105 yards per game 10th in scoring with 64 points.  He rushed for 10 touchdowns and four two-point conversions. 

Micheal Garcia, Josh Warbington, Drew Benge, David Jaynes, and Romeo Botelua all made the honorable mention team.  It is the second year in a row that Garcia has been named to an All-ASC team as he was second-team in 2012.  He helped the offense to break four single season records and seven team single game records.  Warbington passed for 1,876 yards and 15 touchdowns breaking the ETBU single season record for completion percentage (62.4) and efficiency rating (145.01).  Drew Benge led the team in tackles as a freshman with 89 and tied for the team lead in interceptions at two.  He had a career-high 16 tackles vs. Mississippi College.  Botelua finished second on the team in tackling with 57 tackles and had a career-high 12 tackles vs. Mary Hardin-Baylor.  Jaynes recorded 37 tackles and had a 44-yard interception for a touchdown vs. Texas Lutheran.

Jacob Alford was named to the ASC’s sportsmanship team for his play as a center.  This is his first ASC award.


  • Jamaine Sherman (WR)


  • Tyler Bates (WR)
  • Tyler Bates (RS)
  • Toi Glover (RB)

Honorable Mention

  • Michael Garcia (OL)
  • Josh Warbington (QB)
  • Drew Benge (LB)
  • David Jaynes (DL)
  • Romeo Botelua (DB)

Outstanding Sportsman

  • Jacob Alford