ETBU finishes 4th at ASC Championship Meet
ETBU finishes 4th at ASC Championship Meet
Saturday, November 2, 2013
By Erik Holth

ABILENE, Texas- Saving their best performance for last, the East Texas Baptist University men’s country team placed two runners in the top-20 with personal best times, and both runners qualified for the NCAA South/Southeast regional meet.  The team finished fourth overall out of the seven teams competing in the American Southwest Conference championship meet.

“We had two runners qualify for regionals, and we had the most Personal Records ever,” said head coach Natalie Bach-Prather. “Everyone gave 100 percent and we left it all out on the course.”

Landon Price was again the top overall finisher, placing fourth overall and leading the team to 122 points, just six points behind UT-Dallas for third place.  Price’s time 27:22.78, which qualified him for the NCAA regionals in Newport News, Va. on November 16 and was named a first-team performer in the American Southwest conference, never placing lower than 15th in any race this season. 

Ian Spencer, who also qualified for regionals, placed second for ETBU and 18th overall with a time of 29:07.54 for his third top-20 finish this season.  Jack Perkins was the next finisher for ETBU, placing 35th and posting a time of 31:02.37.  It was the third finish inside the top-40 on the season for Perkins.

Seth Powers was the fourth runner for ETBU to cross the line with a time of 31:13.71, one spot behind Perkins in 36th.  It was the third highest placement for Powers on the season and his third top-40 finish as well.  Nicolas Larzabel was next to cross the line in 40th place with a time of 31:37.80 in just his second meet of the season (UT-Tyler).

Two spots behind Larzabel was Ramiro Mendez in 42nd place with a time of 31:55.47.  Aaron Durham finished 44th with a time of 32:08.40 and one spot behind him was Kevin Martinez finishing with a time of 32:12.25.  Jordan Tarbutton was the last runner for ETBU to finish, placing 63rd and posting a time of 35:49.75. 

When asked about next season, coach Bach-Prather replied: “We are trying get prepared for success next season.  This is the highest the men have finished.  We will stronger program next year.”


Landon Price 4th 27:22.78

Ian Spencer 18th 29:07.54

Jack Perkins 35th 31:02.37

Seth Powers 36th 31:13.71

Nicolas Larzabel 40th 31:37.80

Ramiro Mendez 42nd 31:55.47

Aaron Durham 44th 32:08.40

Kevin Martinez 45th 32:12.25

Jordan Tarbutton 63rd 35:49.75