Swaner Finishes in Top 9 of NCAA Woman of the Year
Swaner Finishes in Top 9 of NCAA Woman of the Year
Sunday, October 20, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Amongst the best NCAA female student-athletes in the nation, it was a night to remember for Lya Swaner as she was a finalist for the NCAA “Woman of the Year” award.  Even though she did not become the NCAA “Woman of the Year” her legacy will be remembered at East Texas Baptist University for all she did as a student and an athlete.

Texas Tech’s Ifeatu Okafor was named the winner in Indianapolis on Sunday night amongst the other eight finalist and top 30 award winners.  Swaner was in the company of the best from NCAA Division I in Okafor, University of Hawaii’s Kelly Majam, and Seton Hall’s Alexandra Maseko; NCAA Division II’s Elizabeth Duffy of Concordia-St. Paul, Kayla Shull of Clarion University, and Bridgett Soares of Long Island University; and NCAA Division III’s Pacific Lutheran’s Kaaren Hatlen and Bowdoin’s Elena Crosley.

Swaner has spent the weekend in Indianapolis soaking up all the great times with the athletes, family, and head coach Janae Shirley.  Both Swaner and Shirley had the chance to visit the NCAA Hall of Champions and looked up the 2010 national championship team in the data base reliving great memories. 

Swaner will return to the Dallas area on Monday as she continues to wait on medical school.  She is currently working as a medical scribe in the local emergency rooms.

Below are Swaner’s accomplishments at ETBU:

  • NCAA Top 9 Finalist Woman of the Year (2013)
  • NCAA Top 30 Finalist Woman of the Year (2013)
  • CoSIDA Academic All-American Third-Team (2013)
  • Member of 2010 NCAA National Championship team
  • ASC Tournament MVP (2013)
  • All-ASC second team (2013)
  • CoSIDA Academic All-District First-Team (2013)
  • ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Award
  • NCAA Tournament (2010, 2011, 2013)
  • ASC Tournament Champions (2011, 2013)
  • All-NFCA West Region Second Team (2011)
  • All-ASC East honorable mention (2011)
  • All-ASC Academic Team (2011, 2012)
  • ETBU Top Tiger Award (2013) - top ETBU female athlete
  • ETBU Dean’s List
  • M.L. Dubach Award winner
  • ETBU chemistry scholarship
  • ETBU SAAC President