ASC Champs Voted to Finish 2nd in 2014
ASC Champs Voted to Finish 2nd in 2014
Thursday, January 23, 2014

RICHARDSON, Texas - Coming off of their seventh American Southwest Conference tournament championship in 2013, East Texas Baptist University has been picked to finish second in 2014.  ETBU received eight first place votes and 389 overall points.

ETBU was just 12 points behind Texas-Tyler for first place in the preseason poll.  Texas-Tyler gained 401 points and had 25 first-place votes.  ETBU rolled through the ASC Tournament defeating Texas-Tyler twice for the championship but then was defeated twice by the Patriots in the NCAA Regional Tournament including the championship game. 

With 37-12 overall record, ETBU went 18-6 last year in the ASC East and was the #2 seed for the east division.  They played one of the toughest schedules in the nation playing 16 games against ranked opponents.

Three players on the ASC Preseason Players to Watch list are seniors Lacy Liles (1B), Shelby Parker (P), and Alyssa Romero (OF).  Liles was named a NFCA All-American last year and was an All-ASC first-team selection.  Parker and Romero also were first-team selections.

Head coach Janae Shirley became the program’s all-time wins leader last year with 203 wins.  She earned her 200th career win defeating then #1 Texas-Tyler for the ASC Tournament championship.

ETBU opens the 2014 season on Friday, February 14th, in Abilene, Texas, against Hardin-Simmons University.

ASC Softball Preseason Poll

Rank Team (1st place votes) Points 2013 Record
1. Texas-Tyler (25) 401 47-6, 23-1 ASC
2. East Texas Baptist (8) 389 37-12, 18-6 ASC
3. Mary Hardin-Baylor (1) 315 29-16, 17-7 ASC
4. Louisiana College (1) 305 26-15, 13-11 ASC
5. Texas-Dallas 248 23-18, 12-12 ASC
6. Howard Payne 225 21-21, 15-9 ASC
7. Concordia Texas 191 25-15, 14-10 ASC
8. Hardin-Simmons 184 12-25, 10-14 ASC
9. LeTourneau 174 21-19, 8-16 ASC
10. Mississippi College* 144 8-31, 6-18 ASC
11. Ozarks 78 14-26, 4-20 ASC
12. Sul Ross State 58 9-30, 4-20 ASC

*Ineligible for ASC Championship Tournament due to reclassifying as Division II member
2014 ASC Softball Preseason Players to Watch
Players selected by each ASC head coach

Name Cl. Pos. School
Jessica Borrego So. C Concordia Texas
Hannah Conteras Fr. 3B Concordia Texas
Jenna Franz Fr. RHP Concordia Texas
Lacy Liles Sr. 1B East Texas Baptist
Shelby Parker Sr. RHP East Texas Baptist
Alyssa Romero Sr. OF East Texas Baptist
Mackenzie Clay Sr. 2B Hardin-Simmons
Sydnie Darden So. CF Hardin-Simmons
Emily Hardaway Fr. RHP Hardin-Simmons
Whitney Judd Fr. OF LeTourneau
Kaylee Pritchett Sr. P/INF LeTourneau
Anna Winter Sr. INF LeTourneau
Courtney Ivey Jr. C Louisiana College
Stephanie Jaeger Sr. 2B Louisiana College
Megan Pearson Sr. SS Louisiana College
Kourtney Bevers So. CF Mary Hardin-Baylor
Victoria Gomez Sr. 3B Mary Hardin-Baylor
Chandler Henson Sr. C Mary Hardin-Baylor
Macey Lee Jr. SS Mississippi College
Shay Mickens Jr. OF Mississippi College
Brooke Smitherman Jr. 1B Mississippi College
Molly Bowman Sr. OF Ozarks
Haley McKee So. RHP Ozarks
Shawnee Sorensen Jr. 3B Ozarks
Amanda Garza Jr. INF Sul Ross State
Maile Hoyt Jr. 1B Sul Ross State
Keri McShan So. LHP Sul Ross State
Jordan Bratcher Jr. OF Texas-Dallas
Avery McHugh Jr. UT Texas-Dallas
Robin Thomas So. INF Texas-Dallas
Kelsie Batten So. RHP Texas-Tyler
Vanessa Carrizales So. UT Texas-Tyler
Lauren Robenalt Sr. OF Texas-Tyler